Feeling the Love: Our Staff’s Favorite Valentine’s Day Traditions

Who says that Valentine’s Day is all about expensive dinners and tired hothouse roses? Many of us have wonderful family and friend memories of thoughtful gestures on Valentine’s Day…below our staff shares a few of their memories and favorite traditions from years past.

heartbsktweb

When my boys were at home I made them heart toast with pink milk for breakfast, it’s the perfect way to start Valentine’s Day. It always says I love you. -Ginger

My mother every morning of Valentine’s day gets up early, puts a beautiful red tablecloth on the kitchen table and fills it with hearts, chocolate, lollies and a beautiful bouquet of flowers. My brothers and myself would receive a basket full of Valentine’s gifts. Always a wonderful morning to wake up and feel so much family love. -Ian

Some of my best memories are of the simple, construction paper Valentines I received from my classmates as a child. So simple, but so sweet. -Deb

I enjoy exchanging valentines with friends, like we did in elementary school. When I have extra time, I like to make homemade cards for all my friends and mail them out before Valentine’s Day. We so seldom get ‘snail mail’ these days, and it’s fun to surprise all my favorite peeps. -Erin

I love sharing “heart” with everyone I meet, by performing random acts of kindness throughout the day. – Nancy

Happy Valentine’s Day from all of us at the Spot! 

Heart2

Leave a Reply

